Prayer in the dark

The prayer/mantra I mentioned earlier has started to infiltrate my life. I find myself praying it at different times during the day. Especially in the dark after i turn the lights off to go to bed. It calms me.

I begin to think of the atonement. The Sacrifice of Christ. In the past I have focused on the physical Man on the Cross. The 5 Wounds of Christ. Traditional thoughts. But Occasionally my thoughts have drifted to the more metaphysical aspects.

There is One Christ, but in my mind I often see two aspects. The Physical Man, the carpenter from Nazareth. The Teacher, the Rabbi. Then There is the Metaphysical Christus. The Eternal Deity, who is both One God and the Son of God. A member of the Trinity, yet the Wholeness of Divinity. The Godman.

At the Incarnation, he took on our nature, the nature of a human being. He is still a man. He will always be a man. He is not only my Father and Creator, He is my Brother.

What happened to the Godman on Calvary? There are many thoughts on this topic, but very little is comprehendable in our limited minds. Did God Die? Obviously a man died, but did God die? God is immortal, however His Divinity and His Humanity are intermingled. He is One being, Godman. Not God and man, but Godman, a complete entity.

Theologians have twisted themselves up over this topic for centuries, I will not solve it in the darkness before bed (no one will), but to ponder it is to dwell on my God, and to draw near to him, that is always a good thing.

Christian Meditation serves a specific purpose. We are not emptying our minds. We are focusing it. May we draw near to him in prayer and meditation, and may we seek to become his Mirrors.

3 Responses to “Prayer in the dark”


  1. 1 L October 14, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    Isn’t this on the wrong blog?

  2. 2 L October 14, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    Nevermind, I’ve seen it’s on the other one too 😛

  3. 3 mathaytacechristou October 14, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    I liked it, so i double posted.


Leave a Reply

