An update before bed

Thank God, I got an extension on that damned database class that was killing me. The idea of having to take that stupid repetitive technical class again makes me sick to my stomach. I cannot bear it.

A went through a hard time today. I couldn’t be there for her the way i wanted to today because of schoool but i tried my hardest. I love her to death i hate when bad things happen to her.

L is in videogame land. This happens. She’ll poke her head out eventually. I’ve determined through my nagging that tehre are no real problems, she’s just enjoying her games I think. I usally get nervous when she gets hooked on games cause sometimes its a coping mechanism when she’s having a hard time. But other times she just gets hooked into a game and doesn’t want to let go.

I’m feeling a bit better about dad. We had a family talk thingy today, and we all agreed on a basic course of action to improve how we do things and what we can do to keep dad from getting real low again. I love him to death, i don’t want him to be so depressed about his life. It sucks I know, but I want to work to make the best of it.

I got annoyed last night at copyright law. I am for artists and publishers getting the money they deserve. However when I discovered that the classic novel 1984 is public domain in most of the world, yet would not become so here in the U.S. until 2044, I got annoyed. It just doesn’t seem fair really.

The book is a masterpiece, is over half a century old, avaliable for free to over half the world, its author long dead, its initial publishers long dead etc. Why is this book bound up in the hands of  people that had nothing to do with its production?

As i understand it the book was initially published in Australia, where it is now public domain. If it is Public domain in the country where it originated, why in the world does some american company have exclusive rights to profit from it?

I believe in copyright in theory. I think the way it is applied here in the States is ridiculous.

5 Responses to “An update before bed”


  1. 1 A is so not mentionable March 30, 2009 at 8:31 am

    Yup you pretty much figured it out xD

    *hugs A via your blog*

  2. 2 A who should always be mentioned March 30, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    aw, thanks hunnie

    you were there for me *hugs*

    Glad y’all figured out a course of action

    *hugs L via your blogg*

  3. 3 A is so not mentionable March 31, 2009 at 6:57 am

    *pokes A’s eye via your blog*

  4. 4 CommaH!!!! March 31, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    MY EYE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    WHAT IS IT WITH YOU PEOPLE AND MY EYE!

  5. 5 cunt July 9, 2013 at 1:09 pm

    Have you ever considered creating an ebook or guest authoring
    on other sites? I have a blog centered on the same information you discuss and
    would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my visitors would value your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an email.


Leave a Reply

