I don’t get white supremacists.

I’m watching an episode of gangland on History Channel. They are discussing white supremacy gangs and skinheads. I understand the need to “belong” to something. However I don’t understand specifically what is attractive about white supremacy.

1) The color of a person’s skin is pretty stupid criteria for love/hate. I have known some asshole white people and some kind loving black people. Wouldn’t you rather be close with someone who likes you rather than someone who looks like you?

2) Skinheads tend to use forms of rock music as a rallying cry/recruiting tool. Rock music is deeply entwined with historically black blues.

3) Wouldn’t you rather be proud of what you or your group has done, rather than what it looks like? I’d prefer to be a member of a trade, art movement or political party rather than a “race”. Those things do something, race is merely an accident of birth. Not to mention the fact that the idea of race is merely a social construct.

Eh, hatred usually stems from stupidity.

4 Responses to “I don’t get white supremacists.”


  1. 1 I r Weezy May 29, 2009 at 8:31 am

    Interesting. You know the other day I had been reading anti- BNP sites (As I’ve explained before they are the British National Party – read up on for info), these are white supremists. However there are even worse groups in Britain and across the world (sometimes linked internationally). Funny we came up with a similar theme (though I was reading all this on the web). I read on various white supremists who ended up converting and realising racism is stupid.

    Read these former supremists up on the internet. They have interesting things to say. There is a magazine called Searchlight. The stories are very interesting and it exposes racism. It even has parts that cover North America if you feel that is relevent (I think the whole issue is international and should be focused on international and local levels since these people can be linked).

    http://www.searchlightmagazine.com/

    I know you are busy and stuff but it’s worth the time. At least look up Matthew Collins.

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2002/mar/10/politics.race

    I also read of a Canadian ex-Nazi who ended up joining a multi-cultural band, but I forgot his name.

    As for why it happens? I think it’s partly to do with the blame game. Partly immigration and in hard times scapegoats are chosen. I think some people just want an excuse to hate. Also it’s human nature to be a little wary of someone different from you. Most normal people deal with this, realise skin color and other attitudes don’t matter and that we are all human. Some people just can’t do that and it’s sad.

  2. 2 mathaytacechristou May 29, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    I realize its international, but it seems most concentrated in England and the American northwest.

    • 3 I r Weezy May 29, 2009 at 5:26 pm

      Yeah white supremacy will be concentrated in those places and very much so in Australia and South Africa. Just read up on it. Then there are supremists of other ethnicity.

      It’s a part of human nature anywhere (but something that can be overcome).

  3. 4 mathaytacechristou May 29, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    You are right about South africa, i had forgotten about the after effects of apartheid. I didn’t realize that Australia had a significant issue with Skinheads (or neo nazis etc.)

    Concerning other supremacists, The black panthers and the Nation of Islam have a history of black supremacism. I’ve not heard of any Native American Supremacists, but admittedly I don’t know much about Native Americans. La raza is a Latino supramacy group in Mexico and Southern USA.


Leave a Reply

Twitter

Browser stats

Sign by Danasoft - For Backgrounds and Layouts

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 10,848 hits

test


